fortune cookies

.

.

Life gives you lemons, but this time the lemons are too big.

.

.

Have you ever had one of those shitty fortune cookies actually predict your future?

I know that’s impossible. Trust me, I know. I don’t think fortune cookies, psychics, or that weird friend who won’t shut up about astrology can actually predict anything. I think all they can do is make you realize what’s right in front of you. Hindsight is always 20/20. That kind of thing.

We were just sitting there at the table and I was happy. I was genuinely happy. “She’s so great.” I just kept thinking that over and over again, “She’s so great.” I could never say anything less about her, but I could never say anything more about her either.

When I was in college, I had a professor tell me “No one is ever just fine. There’s always something more and there’s always something less.” I kept thinking about that because I always vehemently agreed. But now, I feel just fine. I’m content.

I look at her eyes and I can see it all. The kids. The house. The future that everyone wants, but no one actually wants. It’s too good.

The small strip of paper grows warm and wet as my hand starts to sweat. I stare at the tiny blue smudged words once more, “Life gives you lemons, but this time the lemons are too big.”

.

.

-Fin-

.

.

xo

IJaggys

About IJaggys

Sorry, am I supposed to know who you are?

One response »

  1. kim_yeon says:

    Don’t really understand this story
    who’s the girl ??
    ^^ yeahhhh no one is perfect. Everyone has their own skills and lack of

Leave a Reply

